top of page
Search

The Weekly Wombat - Week 6

I have recently begun to pester CBS, emailing them and DM'ing them on twitter, asking for various things for our league.  Every time I'm told no and to fuck off, but I think if I keep bugging them enough, they may eventually give me SOMETHING.  It's a tactic I use on other GM's in our league - just bother them so much that they hate themselves, and give in a little bit.  


Anyway, so far I've asked for: 


  • Transaction history, in excel/csv format.  This way I could easily identity things like how long a player has been on any team, how many times, their best and worst draft positions, etc.

  • Images used as logos across our league history

  • A history of our weekly "Live Scoring" pages.  That we never kept up with our weekly records is a travesty, and being able to figure that out now is impossible without CBS help.  


If there's any other things you wish we could get from CBS, let me know and I'll bother the shit out of them until they give in.  

Dong of the Week: 



Slump Buster Grand Salami for Seager.  Also, Nick picked up Big Bro Kyle for the Pez Sox, because of course he did.  



Transaction(s) of the Week:

5/6/19 12:20 PM 


Fuzzy Kiwis: 

Christian Walker 1B | ARI  - Traded from Two Starts Caleb Smith SP | MIA - Traded from Two Starts Jerad Eickhoff RP | PHI  - Traded from Two Starts

Two Starts: 

Sonny Gray SP | CIN  - Traded from Fuzzy Kiwis Carlos Martinez SP | STL  - Traded from Fuzzy Kiwis Pete Alonso 1B | NYM - Traded from Fuzzy Kiwis

Negotiations on this deal started back in Week 1, and it finally ended this past Monday.  Let's have a peak at how some of those talks went: 



Loads of fun! 



Weekly MVP's:

Several huge performances this past week.  Mike Fiers threw a no hitter and still couldn't win MVP.  In the AL Springer just narrowly beats out Fiers and my arch enemy - Lucas Giolito.  Mr. Blow-It-All-In-the-AWL-Championship got 2 wins, struck out 16 over 14.1 and had a .628 ERA.  


Other contenders this week included: Blake Snell, Mike Fiers, Chris Paddack, Josh Bell, and Eugenio Suarez


AWL: Week 1: Mike Clevinger - Kingslayers - 12 INN, 2 HA, 4 BBI, 22 K, 0.500 WHIP, W Week 2: Austin Meadows - Ham Sandwiches - 12-22, 0.545 BA, 2 2B, 4 HR, 12 RBI, 6 R, SB, 5 BB Week 3: Joey Gallo - Kingslayers - 11-23, 0.478 BA, 2 2B, 3B, 4 HR, 11 RBI, 8 R, BB Week 4: Jose Abreu - Kev Bombs - 12-21, 0.571 BA, 2 2B, 2 HR, 12 RBI, 5 R, 3 BB Week 5: Michael Chavis - Kingslayers -  11-27, 0.407 BA, 2B, 3 HR, 8 RBI, 8 R, SB, 5 BB Week 6: George Springer - Cold Notes - 14-27, 0.519 BA, 2 2B, 5 HR, 10 RBI, 10 R, 3 BB


NWL: Week 1: Cody Bellinger - Time Consumers - 20-44, 0.455 BA, 2 2B, 3B, 7 HR, 18 RBI, 17 R, SB, 3 BB, CS Week 2: Ronald Acuña - Fuzzy Kiwis - 12-22, 0.545 BA, 2B, 3B, 3 HR, 9 RBI, 7 R, SB, 4 BB Week 3: Christian Yelich - Killer Pandas - 10-24, 0.417 BA, 8 HR, 16 RBI, 9 R, 6 BB Week 4: Trevor Story - Killer Pandas - 10-25, 0.400 BA, 4 2B, 3B, 2 HR, 5 RBI, 8 R, SB, 2 BB Week 5: Ryan Braun - Time Consumers -  12-26, 0.462 BA, 2 2B, 2 HR, 6 RBI, 3 R, SB, BB Week 6: Hyun-Jin Ryu - Schatzy Turtles - 17 INN, 5 HA, BBI, 15 K, 0.353 WHIP, 2 W



Dan's Culture Recommendation of the Week:  

Letterboxd.com 


I managed to get Dean, Jon, and Kev to join at various points, although I don't think any of them have kept up logging what they watched.  I try to make sure to log and rate every movie I've seen, as it's vitally important to have a list of this somewhere.  After all, if someone asks me what are my favorite movies from 1993, I can go to the site and tell them exactly: 


  1. Jurassic Park

  2. The Sandlot

  3. Tombstone

  4. Dazed and Confused

  5. Philadelphia


Also, I'm happy to say I updated my Best Baseball Movies list, as I forgot about Little Big League.  It's now placed firmly between Rookie of the Year and Angels in the Outfield.  


Games of the Week:  

AWL: Ham Sandwiches @ Megalomaniacs

The Megas are 1-4-1, and have the worst record in the AWL in the breakdown.  Should be an easy win for me, right?  NO.  The Megas may have a bad breakdown, but some if it has to be bad luck - their roster has legit good players on it, who aren't performing always at the right times.  Also in Dean's favor: He owns me.  Numerous World Series losses, even a freaking baseball simulation one as the most recent.  


NWL: Killer Pandas @ Two Starts The two division leaders face off, in what should be a great match up.  The Two Starts have a 2 start advantage on the Pandas, who look to the new acquired Jordan Hicks to help lock down the saves category.  

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page