top of page
Search

The Altuve Conundrum

INT. DEAN'S OFFICE - DAY


DEAN sits at his desk, staring intently at a stack of papers. JOSE ALTUVE stands nervously in front of him, fidgeting with his jersey.


DEAN

Jose, we need you back on the Megalomaniacs. You know how important you are to us.


JOSE

I appreciate that, Dean. I've had a great career with this team, 2 rings and counting!


DEAN

Exactly. That's why I want to draft you in the first round of the AWL draft. But there's a problem.


JOSE

What's that?


DEAN

I heard the Ham Sandwiches may take you first.


Jose's eyes widen in shock.


JOSE

I don't want to play for Dan. I can't stand that guy.


DEAN

I know, I know. None of us can. We can't let him take you. We need you on our team.


Jose paces back and forth, thinking.


JOSE

...what can we do to avoid this?


Dean leans back in his chair, a sly grin spreading across his face.


DEAN

I have a plan. Vlad?


Suddenly, VLAD GUERRERO JR. enters the room, with Megalomaniacs hat on.


JOSE

Vlad? I thought you were forever on the Ham Sandwiches?


Vlad ignores Jose, and looks intently at Dean


DEAN

Vlad, I need your help.


Vlad raises an eyebrow.


VLAD

What do you need?


Dean whispers something in Vlad's ear. Vlad's eyes widen, and he looks at Jose with a mischievous grin.


VLAD

I think I can help you out.


Dean hands Vlad a hammer from his desk drawer. Before Jose can react, Dean grabs his hand and holds it flat on his desk. Vlad slams down with the hammer, breaking Jose's thumb. Jose screams in total agony.


JOSE

Ah! Jesus my thumb is broken! What the hell, I thought we were boys?


DEAN

We are. This is just an insurance policy my friend. Don't worry about it.


Dean throws Jose an ice pack out of his mini fridge, and starts to exit the office. Without turning around, he says to Jose:


DEAN

See you in the 5th round.


As Dean and Vlad exit the room, Vlad mutters under his breath.


VLAD

Midget fuck.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page