top of page
Search

I've Got the Power(Bolts)!



The infamous Powerbolts are back in the NWL. That win in the first season feels real dirty when I look back at it now. 2 points per K, and the dirty Soriano trade. All of it was by the book at the time, but I can see why things have to be regulated a bit more stringently these days. I'm not super pumped about the origins of my team, storied as they might be. I want to build a new brand this time around, but I'll be the first to admit, I don't know who this team is yet.


The Keepers:


Creepy lead in aside, I was pretty happy with my keepers going into the draft. Kershaw was a risk but the alternative wasn't the biggest upside in the world. Corbin did have all the upside in the world. Bryant and Scooter felt like guaranteed numbers for my season and I couldn't have been happier. I didn't feel super dominant in any one aspect, but I liked the foundation I was building on.


Kylo Rendon:


With one of my favorite nicknames, all credit to Jon, Rendon changed things for my draft prep. Once Manny Machado finally signed and landed in the NL, Dean was forced to add Rendon to the draft pool. 3B was already pretty deep, but Rendon was one of the best options out there. I bought into the hype and decided to not keep Josh Donaldson, and draft Rendon first overall instead. I have no regrets.


The Kershaw Seesaw:


I guess it was inevitable that he would start the year on the IL. I'm hot and cold on him. He'll be back eventually and he'll hopefully be awesome. Or he's done forever and my pitching staff is held together with paper-clips and chewed up bubblegum. This might be part of the learning process, but hopefully it all works out in the end.


Second Basemen Beware:


Keeping Scooter over Votto was a good call I think. Of course my first base position in my starting lineup is a black hole, and Scooter is on the IL. So maybe I'm just stupid. Everything was fine because I drafted Daniel Murphy in a super weird spot during the draft. It all worked out. Except that fantasy fucks you. Murphy and Scoot are both on the IL, and every second basemen in the league is scared to be in my lineup.


No Identity:


The real problem I feel with the Power Bolts is a lack of vision. I don't see a path for this team right now. Maybe it's due to infield injuries, maybe it's all the pitchers on my team who are hurt. I would make a big trade right now, but I don't even know what kind of foundation I want to build for a good well rounded strategy. For now, I'm trying to get the feel for NL and figure out where I fit in.







9 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page