top of page
Search

Ducks in a Row


As far as birds go, the Ducks stand alone. Orioles and Ravens have their own special place, but those labels were thrust upon me. I see this team like I see myself. Ready to succeed and prepared to fail. To be a Sittin' (emphasis on the lack of a "g" in that word) Duck right now doesn't mean much. But I want it to mean something. So with that said... Here's my own critique of my own experience so far in the AWL.



The Verlander Trade:


At first glance, I was a bit disappointed with the team I had inherited when coming back into the league. J.D. Martinez aside, I didn't think I was too lucky anywhere else. I honestly didn't realize what I had (may have) in Mondesi at first. And contrary to popular belief, I was not super hyped about David Price as the best pitcher on my team. Also, keeping a closer felt risky, but what do I know? After a little research I realized I had pretty decent options all things considered.


Enter Dan's trade addiction.


Some how, after weeks of talks, I gave up every other pick in the first 8 rounds of the draft. (2, 4, 6, 8) In return, runner up for last year's Cy Young and Dan's doppleganger, Justin Verlander. I convinced myself that regardless of how the draft went, if I could go into the year with strong pitching then I could compete week to week with Medium-to-Bad hitters. The trade was done, and time will tell how it worked out. Duck's would start with a splash, right?


A Keen Sense of Snell:


The draft was intense. I tried to prepare myself for everything at 3rd overall, and I was still wrong. Eloy going first shook things up. Torres was on my radar hard before the draft, and I honestly am not sure if I would have taken him if it had been between him and Snell. I think I would have. That being said, I somehow ended up with Snell, who fell perfectly into my pitching-first approach going into the season. I have zero complaints.


A Foul Odor:


After lucking out with Snell, I had to wait and see what happened for another 15 picks before I went again. Trading my second round as part of the Verlander deal. I knew I had to take a hitter in order to get my all ducks in a row. Position availability was also a concern. Odor probably wasn't the best pick here, and is one of the regrets from my draft. He might turn out to service perfectly well as an everyday infielder, I just don't like him. He indeed is the last true remnants, an unwanted Odor, left over from previous ownership.


Week 1 From Hell:


As a noob manager this year, I have a had a couple learning opportunities as far as rules go, and I thank all that have helped out along the way. (*cough* Kevin Pillar *cough*) But no moment was a better one for me this week then seeing Nick last Friday night. After starting off the week against him, he still let me come chill. And while chilling, he helped me realize that the week didn't end that Sunday, but in fact went on for a whole other week before the end of Week 1. Holy fucking shit, that is a long ass time. I was relieved, kinda pissed and felt like an idiot. (Pissed because I thought I was resetting my line up in 2 days, not 9) As a disclaimer, I'm sure I'll fuck things up or annoy you guys in some way just out of pure ignorance to the etiquette involved here. Help me learn, I'm open to it. And thanks.



Excited to be back guys. Although I ask myself, why the fuck do I like this? Injuries, bad starts.. why do we like fantasy baseball again? Anyway, thanks for reading.

9 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page